Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What are the advantages of using a Windows VPS? - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What are the advantages of using a Windows VPS?

Comments

• @Arkas said:
    I've never used one before, all my VPSs and dedis run linux, but I see some providers offering Windows VPS. My most obvious question is that of security. How secure are they? I assume one advantage might be running .NET frameworks on them, but what else?

I didn’t see any extra security feature on WIN server. I always use Linux. It's cost effective and secured from my point of view.

• @jmgcaguicla said:

@Daniel15 said:
    Microsoft SQL Server is a really solid product though. Their query profiling and optimization tools are unmatched by any other DBMS. The best "profiler" built in to MySQL and Postgres is running the query with EXPLAIN, which is fine but is nowhere near as powerful as Microsoft's tools.

I use SQL Server at my day job and everything else for hobby projects, and I must say SSMS and the Profiler has been the best thing since sliced bread.

Plus, it being available on Linux is very helpful for us migrating away from Windows VMs

Only SQL Server database engine runs on Linux. The SSMS (graphical management studio for sql server) is available only on Windows OS.

yes, one SSMS can be used to connect to multiple SQL Server databases.

• @dev_vps said:
    Only SQL Server database engine runs on Linux. The SSMS (graphical management studio for sql server) is available only on Windows OS.

Yes I know.

Also, I don't remember asking. Do you know who asked?

• @jmgcaguicla said:

@dev_vps said:

Yes I know.

Also, I don't remember asking. Do you know who asked?

My comments were in response to someone who wrote this