Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What are the advantages of using a Windows VPS?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What are the advantages of using a Windows VPS?

ArkasArkas Moderator
edited December 2021 in General

I've never used one before, all my VPSs and dedis run linux, but I see some providers offering Windows VPS. My most obvious question is that of security. How secure are they? I assume one advantage might be running .NET frameworks on them, but what else?

Thanked by 2miau devp

Comments

• No

Thanked by 1fullclick32
  • exactly, I need a Windows vps to test .NET app during development, thats why I bought a Netcup vps

Thanked by 1Arkas
  • deankdeank Member, Troll

No

• Totally depends on your use case right?

Typically if you're using Windows, you either need it (eg, some software is Windows only), or are more comfortable using it.

Professionally, I have a number of Windows VPS/Dedi's doing different things like serving remote applications over RDS/RDP, MSSQL databases, AD controllers/slaves, M365 backups, SharePoint, exchange, IIS, EPOS databases for legacy software (legacy is still a really big thing), etc...

Others use it in a personal capacity because it's the OS they're most familiar with and it's easy to use RDP to control your cloud server.

All comes down to familiarity and use case I guess :smile:

• skorupionskorupion Member, Host Rep

the GUI is a huge one.

Thanked by 1Arkas
  • deankdeank Member, Troll

If you use Windows, you shouldn't be on LET to begin with.

You'd be a heretic.

• ManishPantManishPant Member, Host Rep

No Advantage , even it cost more due to windows license
    Mainly use for running .Net Projects

Thanked by 1Arkas