Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!


Review: New Wave NetConnect
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

Review: New Wave NetConnect

edited April 2013 in Reviews

Summery:

------------ Host nwnx.net is unprofessional

------ Also known as:
ChicagoVPS.net
mohawk-host.com
BuffaloVPS.com

And the list keeps growing... This seems to be (from my opinion) one of those companies that keeps adding or changing names. So you end up switching, only to realize you've been dealing with the same people. :eek:

Key Points of Host:

  • Poor up time
  • Poor ping on IP address (see screen shot)
  • Poor ping on NODE address (see screen shot)
  • High packet loss (see screen shot)
  • Corrupt distro images *
  • Poorly configured pre-made images *
  • Un-authroized billing for services (see screen shot)
  • Rude customer service

My expectations:

  • Reasonable server load (not perfect, but reasonable)
  • Easy access to control panel (and / or SSH)
  • Quick and friendly customer service
  • Customer service which will resolve issues (or at least make a valid attempt & not brush me off with a "script" response)
  • An agreeable Terms of Service for possible mild adult content (limited, not porn)
  • An acceptable budget
  • Able to save small attachments on file server, rather then having them be stored in PHP. Thus improving site load time, back ups, and less server resources.

**My current resources:

  • 1 Database (MySQL) (1 more is optional for test site)
  • Space currently using: -- 1 GB
  • Current monthly bandwidth: -- 15 GB

Currently using:

  • XenForo with only 50 active members
  • Optimizer to prevent & lower resource use on MySQL & PHP (over all lower server resources) & improve load time.
  • Manually backing up using FTP & MySQL Dumper

Full Commentary Review:

We're an uncensored community (forum), with about 50 active members. So we're not that large and typically people are not all online at once.

I've never had such a strange experience with a hosting service provider....

We originally ordered services on February 1, 2013 and by February 20th, 2013 we were already shopping for a new provider.

Why?

Well for starters their "distro images" (see screen shot) were a lot like gambling... You never knew what you were going to get. It took sometime for us to realize this, but the images sometimes were "pre-used". This was very concerning as we ended up having old data from past customers or past installs.

And selecting an pre-configured image didn't yield the best configuration. In fact, when we kept complaining about the poor ping time, their support tried to blame us for the configuration.... It was their pre-made configuration with nothing changed by us (we hadn't even uploaded anything).

We couldn't successfully run a hardware check (seems some how we were blocked from doing so). But upon doing a few fresh install; we noticed the system would be corrupt (setting would not always save).

As we said, we ordered service on February 1 and by the 20th, we were already moving to a new host (or so we thought). We canceled our services for Direct Admin, but were still billed for it... Counting as an un-authorized charge on our account.

A refund request was ignored for over a week and finally we were issues a credit (we wanted a refund).

Turns out that our new host was the same as our old host, because it was the same host under a different name (but still billed under New Wave NetConnect).

Support was very rude and when we called them on it, they deleted their comments, but still made a point to tell us to be respectful.

I'll be honest.... This is one of those times when things were so bad... You kind of don't know where to start explaining and you feel drained to the point of... "Why bother?". So you'll excuse me if my comments are short.

See screen shots

I think my summery about covers most of everything, but I'll be willing to answer questions upon request

edit: can't seem to upload photos... So.... Also fixed all those bb codes.

«1345

Comments

  • edited April 2013

    You need to add the <img src="http://URL-2-photo" />

    You can use HTML.

  • Could you clarify what you mean by "Corrupted"? Specifically what settings would not save?

  • They moved it to here
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?p=8637883

    Didn't know if it was OK to post links to there.

    Not looking to hot link photo.

  • edited April 2013

    @HalfEatenPie said: Could you clarify what you mean by "Corrupted"? Specifically what settings would not save?


    So many ways I could explain "corrupt". Upon saving something with nano (I prefer nano over vi), the file would be corrupt (unread-able). This suggest hardware issues, but they claimed to have moved me to a new server on a different node.

    On that new location... Upon selecting an image, the image would not load and had to make a new image. Upon making a new image, the install would not be complete.

  • @Socially_Uncensored said: On that new location... Upon selecting an image, the image would not load and had to make a new image. Upon making a new image, the install would not be complete.

    By image do you mean the OpenVZ Templates?

  • @HalfEatenPie said: By image do you mean the OpenVZ Templates?

    I would assume, yes. I call it "distro images" ... ie... CentOS with cPanel, CentOS without cPanel, Debian 32bit, Debian 64bit, ect....

    You pick one, tell it to install (that's how they word it), and within 10 minutes (they say wait 10 minutes, we waited over an hour on one) you have it.

  • Just to connect the two.....

    This was the host who hosted what I jokingly called, "the evil server"
    http://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/8055/evil-server/p1

  • @Socially_Uncensored said: We're an uncensored community (forum), with about 50 active members.

    Why are you hosting this on ChicagoVPS? Shouldn't you be hosting them on an offshore server or sth?

  • @zhuanyi said: Why are you hosting this on ChicagoVPS? Shouldn't you be hosting them on an offshore server or sth?

    Since freedom on speech is mentioned on the first amendment to the United States constitution, I think it makes perfect sense to host it in a country where the law explicitly protects websites like his.

  • laaevlaaev Member
    edited April 2013

    @Socially_Uncensored,

    First and foremost thanks for taking the time to write this, I would like the opportunity to clarify a few things as you are obviously one-sided on this and deliberately trying to post slanderous claims about our company online due to a $5 charge which was made in MISTAKE automatically by our billing system. You have not made a single attempt to contact us to get that refunded yet besides publicly posting a biased review designed to attempt to tarnish our reputation. We are a very ethical company and never would internationally charge someone for a canceled service, but if you created a subscription it is also your responsibility to cancel the subscription accordingly, but if you didn't and you were charged for something that wasn't supposed to be charged we are more than happy to get that refunded for you. If $5 is really worth that much to you to the point you would write such a detailed post lying about our company then I am at a lost of words, because all you had to do is contact our billing department to work with us to resolve this.

    When reviewing tickets earlier this year I specifically remember you and found the way you dealt with our employees border-line harassment and extremely disrespectful.

    To be clear so everyone knows, @Socially_Uncensored was facing issues with packet loss on his server due to the CSF firewall that he installed on his server, and any experienced server admin can tell you by default CSF firewall WILL rate limit ICMP requests (hence causing packet loss) unless you specifically go into the configuration file and disable it. Judging by the tickets I believe @Socially_Uncensored is not a system admin and as such didn't know how to modify the CSF configuration, as a courtesy one of our main support technicians offered to disable rate limiting for him at no cost (which resolved the packet loss problem). We went above and beyond as an unmanaged VPS provider to listen to him and assist him with third party issues such as CSF, he probably didn't know what an unmanaged VPS consisted of prior purchasing but we still continued to help him out despite the amount of unprofessionalism that was displayed on his end towards the correspondence with our staff members. With this said, the "poor ping" and "poor uptime" issues he mentioned in his post is 100% untrue and caused due to his own CSF firewall configuration... which we fixed at no charge.

    I find it amusing that @Socially_Uncensored signature claims he supports free speech yet he is censoring and leaving out the ticket responses where they harassed our employees while we continued to maintain a level of professionalism and continued to help while we were not even obligated to do so to begin with.

    Best of luck with your new host and I highly suggest opting for a managed solution with your new provider, again none of the claims you stated are factual and true except maybe for the billing part where you were incorrectly charged $5, this was explained earlier in my post and if you contact our billing department we will go ahead and get this refunded for you, thanks! https://billing.chicagovps.net/submitticket.php?step=2&deptid=1

    • Kevin
  • laaevlaaev Member

    @Socially_Uncensored said: ------------ Host nwnx.net is unprofessional

    ------ Also known as:

    ChicagoVPS.net
    mohawk-host.com
    BuffaloVPS.com

    And the list keeps growing... This seems to be (from my opinion) one of those companies that keeps adding or changing names. So you end up switching, only to realize you've been dealing with the same people. :eek:

    Very untrue, yet another claim designed to try to tarnish our company reputation, but anyone who visits these sites of ours will see it redirects to ChicagoVPS.

    We acquired BuffaloVPS last year, if anyone visits buffalovps.com and tries to place an order or click on an order link, you'll be redirected to ChicagoVPS - so how exactly is anyone going to be fooled to believe they are dealing with different people?

    Mohawk-host.com redirects to ChicagoVPS...

    Please enlighten me and explain how anyone can switch over to BuffaloVPS or Mohawk-Host when all they do is re-direct to ChicagoVPS?

  • AnthonySmithAnthonySmith Member, Patron Provider
    edited April 2013

    @CVPS_Kevin said: You have not made a single attempt to contact us to get that refunded yet besides publicly posting a biased review designed to attempt to tarnish our reputation

    You might want to look at the screen shots here: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1255380 he asked for that on 11th march?

    Or did I miss something?

    Something is a miss here, seems to be a whole month worth of history missing, if the client has been waiting to get that sorted for a whole month for refund for a charge you admit was made in error or asking for answers as to why you provide templates that have other customers data on it then I see nothing wrong with this review and don't be throwing the slander card around nothing in the review constitutes defamation unless it is known by the client to be untrue or clearly malicious (and not just in your opinion) the same cannot be said for your response.

    With all that said, usually in all these cases is it just a simple failure between hosts in clients to meet in the middle and achieve a common understanding and resolution so in the interest of fairness as @CVPS_Kevin has made some claims of staff abuse and purposely missing information etc perhaps @Socially_Uncensored would permit CVPS to post some screenshots taking out his personal information to back up the claims that:

    A) He is an abusive client
    B) CVPS had no recorded packet loss during the reported period (Pingdon etc)
    C) CVPS responded to your request for refund back in March
    D) CVPS are not using client pre owned VPS templates

    If you @Socially_Uncensored permit that then everyone should have enough information to make an informed decision about the review.

    I really think this is just likely down to human error on both sides (if paypal subscription) and CVPS did not intend to deliberately make you feel devalued as a customer.

    Just a thought(s) :)

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: You have not made a single attempt to contact us to get that refunded yet besides publicly posting a biased review designed to attempt to tarnish our reputation.

    See screen shot
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?p=8637883

  • edited April 2013

    @CVPS_Kevin said: if you created a subscription it is also your responsibility to cancel the subscription accordingly


    I did. Again... See screen shot

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?p=8637883

    If you're going to call me a lair... Make sure I don't have proof.

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: you were charged for something that wasn't supposed to be charged we are more than happy to get that refunded for you.


    I'll gladly follow up should you actually issue a refund.

  • biggest idiot in the world @Socially_Uncensored. First learn how to use Linux and probably unplug your computer for ever would probably help also.

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: If $5 is really worth that much to you to the point you would write such a detailed post lying about our company then I am at a lost of words, because all you had to do is contact our billing department to work with us to resolve this.


    I did... See ticket and see screen shot.

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: When reviewing tickets earlier this year I specifically remember you and found the way you dealt with our employees border-line harassment and extremely disrespectful.


    If submitting facts and politely asking for issues to be resolve counts as "harassment" .... Customer service is not your strong point.

  • @AnthonySmith said: perhaps @Socially_Uncensored would permit CVPS to post some screenshots taking out his personal information to back up the claims that:

    A) He is an abusive client

    B) CVPS had no recorded packet loss during the reported period (Pingdon etc)
    C) CVPS responded to your request for refund back in March
    D) CVPS are not using client pre owned VPS templates

    This

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: CSF firewall that he installed on his server


    First of all.... I had packet loss before, during, and after CSF. Second of all, the "during part" was your pre-configured setup which came with your distro image

    See screen shot.

    This does not explain the packet loss or ping issue when nothing was installed (Debian Linux for example, using no configuration except for the default packages).

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: support technicians offered to disable rate limiting for him at no cost (which resolved the packet loss problem)


    No, it did not resolve anything.

    And again, we're talking about the packet loss and even ping issues on the NODE, not just the VPS.

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: With this said, the "poor ping" and "poor uptime" issues he mentioned in his post is 100% untrue and caused due to his own CSF firewall configuration... which we fixed at no charge.


    We used your pre-configured install for only 1 - 2 days. After that we were not even using anything you described.

    This leaves the remaining time when beyond 1 - 2 days. We know how to setup a LAMP server. We're doing just fine on our new host, thanks.

  • LukeTLukeT Member

    Just looking over the images, CVPS's images can't be 'pre-configured' with other peoples ISOs. I'm assuming either they come direct from OVZ or compiled minimal themselves

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: I find it amusing that @Socially_Uncensored signature claims he supports free speech yet he is censoring and leaving out the ticket responses where they harassed our employees while we continued to maintain a level of professionalism and continued to help while we were not even obligated to do so to begin with.


    As you were so "kind" to delete the rude comments made by your staff... I would love to see what "comments" I made.

  • Yeah, you randomly cant just get "someone else's files" on a reimage. it would happen to everyone not just you. Not sure what you're doing.

  • @CVPS_Kevin said: Best of luck with your new host and I highly suggest opting for a managed solution with your new provider


    We found an unmanned provider and our site is working flawlessly. So much for your theory that I don't know how to manage things.

    http://www.sociallyuncensored.eu

    ^ Have a look see for yourself. No issues. Problem?

  • working fine


    As an uncensored website.... Some of the comments people make are not my cup of tea.

  • @Socially_Uncensored said: As an uncensored website.... Some of the comments people make are not my cup of tea.

    http://www.sociallyuncensored.eu/forums/threads/file-server-is-now-in-canada.16309/
    Hate speech is illegal in Canada and Sweden

  • edited April 2013

    @LukeT said: Just looking over the images, CVPS's images can't be 'pre-configured' with other peoples ISOs. I'm assuming either they come direct from OVZ or compiled minimal themselves


    I only noticed that if I installed (selected) Ubuntu for example.... And decided to start off fresh from Ubuntu again (delete the image & pick the same OS)... And repeated this process several times.... Things would be different (almost each time). Sometimes even drastically (as if someone else had used it before me).

    I admit I do not know how that could be done (instantly upon a fresh setup)

Sign In or Register to comment.