Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!


OVH 2016 SSD VPS 1 Review? - Page 6
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

OVH 2016 SSD VPS 1 Review?

123468

Comments

  • "1000 iops should be enough for just about anyone. "

    Now make me Internet-famous after 5yrs

  • Any promo codes out there?

  • its $3/mo for 2GB RAM and unlimited traffic on 100mbps and $2 one-time fees for ipv4, what further discounts do you expect?

    Thanked by 2rm_ GCat
  • hotsnowhotsnow Member
    edited July 2016

    I have just noticed the network in BHS now is 1G, though they still said 100Mbps unlimited on the page, anyone also noticed this?

    Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
    Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
    Testing from OVH (xxx)...
    Selecting best server based on latency...
    Hosted by Fibrenoire Internet (Montreal, QC) [0.63 km]: 2.457 ms
    Testing download speed........................................
    Download: 888.52 Mbit/s
    Testing upload speed..................................................
    Upload: 496.76 Mbit/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPU model            : Intel Xeon E312xx (Sandy Bridge)
    Number of cores      : 1
    CPU frequency        : 2394.472 MHz
    Total amount of ram  : 1962 MB
    Total amount of swap : 0 MB
    System uptime        : 0days, 14:8:6
    OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
    Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
    Kernel               : 3.16.0-4-amd64
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Node Name           IPv4 address        Download Speed
    CacheFly            205.234.175.175     54.9MB/s
    Linode, Tokyo, JP       106.187.96.148      11.4MB/s
    Linode, Singapore, SG       139.162.23.4        6.45MB/s
    Linode, London, UK      176.58.107.39       26.7MB/s
    Linode, Frankfurt, DE       139.162.130.8       14.4MB/s
    Linode, Fremont, CA     50.116.14.9     12.5MB/s
    Softlayer, Dallas, TX       173.192.68.18       37.0MB/s
    Softlayer, Seattle, WA      67.228.112.250      28.4MB/s
    Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE    159.122.69.4        16.1MB/s
    Softlayer, Singapore, SG    119.81.28.170       9.88MB/s
    Softlayer, HongKong, CN     119.81.130.170      7.25MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    I/O speed(1st run) : 300 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run) : 477 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run) : 509 MB/s
    Average I/O: 428.667 MB/s
  • hotsnowhotsnow Member
    edited July 2016

    @texteditor said:
    its $3/mo for 2GB RAM and unlimited traffic on 100mbps and $2 one-time fees for ipv4, what further discounts do you expect?

    seems it should be €2.99 for vps and €2 for ip on their EU site, or $3.49 for vps and $3 for ip on thier US site :p

  • rm_rm_ Member
    edited July 2016

    hotsnow said: I have just noticed the network in BHS now is 1G

    Their shaper is broken since a day ago, I am getting up to 5 Gbit upload on my VPS in SBG.

    However now it's stuck in the DDOS mitigation mode which I can't disable. It's not even auto mode this time, just that their panel is broken and somehow locked up in the removalPending state.

    Thanked by 3hotsnow sin kimfast
  • BasilBasil Member

    @rm_ said:

    hotsnow said: I have just noticed the network in BHS now is 1G

    Their shaper is broken since a day ago, I am getting up to 5 Gbit upload on my VPS in SBG.

    However now it's stuck in the DDOS mitigation mode which I can't disable. It's not even auto mode this time, just that their panel is broken and somehow locked up in the removalPending state.

    Both of mine in GRA are still limited to 100mb/sec, I think it just affects SBG and BHS

  • BasilBasil Member
    edited July 2016

    I don't think it's "broken" Since my two in GRA1 are now getting 500Mbits/sec down and 100~ up

    edit: Definitely broken, now I'm getting 2mbits/sec down 0.01 up and around 50% packet loss

  • rm_rm_ Member
    edited July 2016

    Mine is still stuck in DDOS mitigation, I currently have 5 Mbit download (and most incoming ports blocked) but still 2-3 Gbit upload for whatever reason.

    @WalrusBug try testing your upload speeds with iperf -c iperf.ovh.net or iperf -c ping.online.net.

  • FalzoFalzo Member

    @rm_ I have checked two VPS SSD within public cloud, location GRA1

    [ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
    [  3]  0.0-10.1 sec   123 MBytes   102 Mbits/sec
  • BasilBasil Member
    edited July 2016

    I get 3Gb/sec with OVH, 1.67Gb/sec with online.net but my kimsufi / kidechire are getting 2-3mbits/sec and a load of packet loss :/ (using "VPS-SSD")

    iperf.ovh.net: [ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth [ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 3.02 GBytes 2.59 Gbits/sec ping.online.net: [ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth [ 3] 0.0-10.0 sec 1.94 GBytes 1.67 Gbits/sec

    Thanked by 1GCat
  • seems iperf.ovh.net in FR, not good to BHS

    [ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
    [  3]  0.0-10.0 sec   316 MBytes   263 Mbits/sec
  • sinsin Member
    edited July 2016

    hotsnow said: have just noticed the network in BHS now is 1G

    Same...problem is the AntiDDoS keeps kicking it when my speeds hit that high, if I try downloading something I immediately get a mitigation notice.

  • Is there any new about IPv6?

  • rm_ said: I am getting up to 5 Gbit upload on my VPS in SBG.

    For the record this has been fixed on about August 31st, back to 100 Mbit again.

  • hotsnowhotsnow Member
    edited September 2016

    rm_ said:

    >

    For the record this has been fixed on about August 31st, back to 100 Mbit again.

    yes, also fixed in BHS

  • doughnetdoughnet Member
    edited September 2016

    @techturch said:
    Is there any new about IPv6?

    Yeah I have one of the cloud vps hg7 and its great but kind of sucks there's no IPv6 yet. I wonder why.

  • @techturch said:
    Is there any new about IPv6?

    On the OVH Tasks (August 10 2016)

    To prepare for the introduction of IPv6 for VPS/Public Cloud in Beauharnois, a planned maintance will be performed on Tuesday, Aug 16th at 4am EDT.
    Configuration changes will be done on every network equipment.
    
    Thanked by 1rm_
  • no gibagit on GRA

    Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
    CacheFly                        205.234.175.175         10.5MB/s
    
  • What do you guys think about migrating from VULTR 5$ plan to OVH 7$ plan?
    Does it worth it?

    I'm not having problems with Vultr, I just wanna have more resources with less money (low budget).

    I was thinking about DigitalOcean 10$ plan, but it's double price I'm paying for Vultr, and the 5$ plan from DigitalOcean doesn't fit my needs.

    So with 7$ in OVH I'd have waaaayy more RAM and Storage Disk.

    I run a small website with Webmin+Virtualmin. That's all.

  • I've been running VPS on both platforms for a few months now and I would definitely have no issue recommending OVH over Vultr

    One thing to be aware of is that you will pay €2.99 /mo extra for snapshot capability on OVH

    https://ovh.ie/vps/backup-vps.xml

  • sinsin Member
    edited October 2016

    @diegoweb said:
    What do you guys think about migrating from VULTR 5$ plan to OVH 7$ plan?
    Does it worth it?

    I'm not having problems with Vultr, I just wanna have more resources with less money (low budget).

    I was thinking about DigitalOcean 10$ plan, but it's double price I'm paying for Vultr, and the 5$ plan from DigitalOcean doesn't fit my needs.

    So with 7$ in OVH I'd have waaaayy more RAM and Storage Disk.

    I run a small website with Webmin+Virtualmin. That's all.

    I would say go for it. My OVH VPSes have performed great, great resources for the price, ddos protected, and have been stable. You could always purchase the lowest $3.49 one and test it out for a month and then just upgrade it.

  • edited October 2016

    https://www.ovh.com/us/cloud/instances/cpu-ssd.xml

    I am interested to see how the HG-30-SSD runs. Anyone have benchmarks for this or something real similar? Also what are the chances of me waiting til Black Friday / Cyber Monday and OVH having a sick deal?

    Would this be considered KVM? They list Ubuntu 14.04. They must have 16.04 available too I'd assume?

  • @sin said:
    I would say go for it. My OVH VPSes have performed great, great resources for the price, ddos protected, and have been stable. You could always purchase the lowest $3.49 one and test it out for a month and then just upgrade it.

    Can you tell me if OVH is indeed using KVM instead of OpenVZ?
    People were saying OVH take you down if you use high amount of CPU for a long time. Do you know anything about it?

    I'm worried about moving from a company that is working great, and after some days realize that I made a horrible choice.

  • @diegoweb said:
    Can you tell me if OVH is indeed using KVM instead of OpenVZ?
    People were saying OVH take you down if you use high amount of CPU for a long time. Do you know anything about it?

    I'm worried about moving from a company that is working great, and after some days realize that I made a horrible choice.

    They only use KVM but not sure about the CPU question. I haven't pushed it and maxed it out 24/7.

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Host Rep

    @Harambe said:

    @diegoweb said:
    Can you tell me if OVH is indeed using KVM instead of OpenVZ?
    People were saying OVH take you down if you use high amount of CPU for a long time. Do you know anything about it?

    I'm worried about moving from a company that is working great, and after some days realize that I made a horrible choice.

    They only use KVM but not sure about the CPU question. I haven't pushed it and maxed it out 24/7.

    If your server is load is around 20-30 for many hours the vps will be on shutdown mode and you have to reboot it.

  • @theblackesthat said:
    https://www.ovh.com/us/cloud/instances/cpu-ssd.xml

    I am interested to see how the HG-30-SSD runs. Anyone have benchmarks for this or something real similar? Also what are the chances of me waiting til Black Friday / Cyber Monday and OVH having a sick deal?

    Would this be considered KVM? They list Ubuntu 14.04. They must have 16.04 available too I'd assume?

    yes KVM, yes Ubuntu 16.04 is available.

    and you know you can spin up those instances billed hourly? so go and try for yourself, HG-30-SSD will cost you roughly $1 for over three hours...

    OVH isn't known for blackfriday specials in particular, they do specials irregularly through the year. if I remember right there has been a special lately to double funds on that high-ram ssd instances, but don't know if that still exists...

  • Harambe said: They only use KVM but not sure about the CPU question. I haven't pushed it and maxed it out 24/7.

    ZweiTiger said: If your server is load is around 20-30 for many hours the vps will be on shutdown mode and you have to reboot it.

    Do you know if this happens to Vultr and DigitalOcean too?
    I have never had any problem in Vultr, my server was never shutdown by them.
    Once I logged to my webmin and I could see my CPU running at 100% for a while (30 min), so I rebooted manually. But Vultr didn't sent me email notification or whatever about this.

  • @diegoweb said:

    Do you know if this happens to Vultr and DigitalOcean too?
    I have never had any problem in Vultr, my server was never shutdown by them.
    Once I logged to my webmin and I could see my CPU running at 100% for a while (30 min), so I rebooted manually. But Vultr didn't sent me email notification or whatever about this.

    If the usage is excessive (100% for hours) most hosts will shut off the instance, so I'd assume Vultr/DO would be similar. 30 mins to a couple hours of high CPU usage shouldn't be an issue as long as the node isn't overloaded at the time.

  • diegowebdiegoweb Member
    edited October 2016

    Harambe said: If the usage is excessive (100% for hours) most hosts will shut off the instance, so I'd assume Vultr/DO would be similar. 30 mins to a couple hours of high CPU usage shouldn't be an issue as long as the node isn't overloaded at the time.

    So based on that and lastest benchmarks and user experience on this forum, it is a good deal to hire the VPS SSD from OVH, right?

    Do you know if it's possible to make a backup image from Vultr and import it to OVH in order to maintain all my setup? I have done a lot of things in my webmin and virtualmin, so I don't want to loose all my configs :)

    I've seem a tutorial teaching how to use a command "dd" to make a backup from the OS and download it to my machine, but I'm worried about migrating and something get broken because it's not the same machine, you know?

    http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/132797/how-to-dd-a-remote-disk-using-ssh-on-local-machine-and-save-to-a-local-disk

Sign In or Register to comment.