Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Are you using Firefox to support its survival?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Are you using Firefox to support its survival?

I have started to use it a hour ago after many years. I think it would be bad for open standards if Firefox eventually died. What do you think? Are you using it / do you care?

Comments

• Why do you think it will die?

• @plumberg said:
    Why do you think it will die?

It's market share has been in a steep decline for years now

• ivlad ivlad Member
    edited December 2022

I use Firefox for some things, but mostly chrome. I am a web designer, and most of my projects work best with chrome. Firefox is way too big to die and has way too many backers. What makes you say that Firefox would eventually die?

Thanked by 2Ympker nick_
  • Any sources?

• @plumberg said:
    Any sources?

It's known to be in decline but e.g.

https://gs.statcounter.com/browser-market-share

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran
    edited December 2022

I am using both Firefox and Opera.

Opera supports Windows XP which I still maintain for some people and firefox-esr is the go-to browser on all my Debian desktops.
    I would be sad if they would be gone, but there are alternatives still.
    A group of tech enthusiasts using something to stop its decline would not achieve that goal. Market forces would work, no matter what we would prefer.

• Only use Firefox here as the main browser from a long time.

• blackblack Member
    edited December 2022

I think there's some changes coming to chromium / chrome in early 2023 that'll restrict some ad blocking ability which will be a big boost to firefox's usage.