Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

ChicagoVPS database leaked? ChicagoVPS customers - change your root passwords immediately! - Page 5
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

ChicagoVPS database leaked? ChicagoVPS customers - change your root passwords immediately!

Comments

• @soluslabs

Thanks for helping in spreading everybody's root passwords, very good product (for hackers)

• Can someone send me the dump as well, i need to check my data. :(

• fislefisle Member
    edited February 2013

Thanks for helping in spreading everybody's root passwords, very good product (for hackers)

To me they look a lot like base64 encoded passwords but I am no expert with hashes.

• @BronzeByte said: Thanks for helping in spreading everybody's root passwords, very good product (for hackers)

Should probably tag @let on that, too.

• Ash_HawkridgeAsh_Hawkridge Member
    edited February 2013

Then use your not-so-common sense and change the password with "passwd" instead of maintaining the same one you used at sign up. I always sign up with "bullshitpass" and then change it afterwards since i know they are logged in SolusVM and WHMCS.

• vedranvedran Veteran
    edited February 2013

@fisle said: The root passwords are all hashed in the database OP linked. Atleast in vservers table. Am I missing something?

If root password is re-assigned upon reinstallation, they are not hashed. I do remember my root password not working after reinstall, could it be some providers are hashing them after all? Otherwise, someone should notify all ChicagoVPS clients their root passwords have been compromised ...

@fisle said: The root passwords are all hashed in the database OP linked. Atleast in vservers table. Am I missing something?