Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What is Your Web Stack in 2022?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What is Your Web Stack in 2022?

raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

I have a modest webapp to write.

I'm thinking of using Flask for the backend, as I know Python well. I did one large project in NodeJS for work and never really fell in love with Node.

Even though I'm a DBA by trade and lean towards traditional RDBMS, for this I could actually use anything. MongoDB (aka "Snapchat for data") never impressed me, and to be honest I think if I did want to do something NoSQL or storing JSON in the DB, I think Pg would work just as well...? I know I'm not the first or even the 100,000th to make that observation, though perhaps I'm completely wrong.

For the front end, either old-school Web 1.0 click-and-submit or perhaps React for the front, though my experience is limited to a single React class back in 2015.

What is your web stack in 2022?

Comments

• MrRadicMrRadic Patron Provider, Veteran

.Net is great and getting better every year.

• bulbasaurbulbasaur Member
    edited August 2022

I'd use Python aiohttp + aiopg for something like this. A few years ago I wrote a semi-large PHP webapp written the traditional way with server-rendered pages.

Thanked by 1ehab
  • HxxxHxxx Member

Backend:
    .NET or PHP

Frontend
    Bootstrap + jQuery
    or
    Bootstrap + Vue
    or
    Bootstrap + Vanilla JS
    or
    Angular + Bootstrap
    Angular + Material

Firm believer that JS belongs to the frontend. But of course Node exist, works well, so is all preference in the end.