Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Requirements to create a web hosting server
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Requirements to create a web hosting server

Hello everyone,

I am a web designer and currently host my clients' site on a reseller hosting service, but now I want to create my own hosting server. Because it will give me more freedom. (and maybe even more profit.) I'll also maybe start a hosting provider business in the future.

Most of my sites are built with wordpress. I've done a lot of research and will find a server but I'm undecided on what software to use.

I bought a whmcs license.
I am thinking of using directadmin as hosting panel. (I was using cpanel)
I'm going to buy a Litespeed license. (enterprise)
I will also use Cloudlinux.

I don't know what to do for a safe backup. Is Jetbackup enough?

What else do you need for a good hosting server? Or any advice for that?

Comments

• greenteagreentea Member
    edited February 2023

Cloudpanel.io is a free control panel that works amazing with Wordpress sites. I use it on all my web hosting servers.

Cloudpanel also has Redis and Varnish Cache built in, which is a free caching solution you could use in place of litespeed.

BUT

I think you should stick to what your good at, designing and leave the headache of hosting to a reputable company with reseller plans. It not only saves you time (e.x. 2am technical support phone calls) in the long run, but also a crap ton of money.

• billing - whmcs
    server mangement - cpanel / directadmin
    webserver - nginx / litespeed
    installer - softaculous
    security - cloudlinux, imunify360 / cpguard
    backup - jetbackup (don't do same server as backup)
    mail : mailbaby / mailchannels