Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS vs Shared Hosting for WordPress
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS vs Shared Hosting for WordPress

Hello,

I was browsing Racknerd's Black Friday page and was confused by my options. I'd like to host five WordPress sites, nothing fancy, just regular blogs. So, I'd like to hear your opinion on which option to choose.

1. Basic VPS - 1.5GB KVM for $16.88/yr
  2. Shared Reseller - 100GB 5 cPanel for $22.99/yr + $8/yr for Singapore
  3. Shared Hosting - 100GB 5 domains for $15.89/yr + $8/yr for Singapore

I have no experience with VPS, but I believe I will be able to manage it. But I'm not sure I want to spend that much time figuring things out.

I simply want to be able to serve pages quickly and without much bloat. I currently use static site generators like Hugo.

Also, since my blogs will be aimed at Asian audience, do I really need that extra $8/year Singapore location? Or should I just configure Cloudflare and be done with it?

Thank you very much.

Thanked by 1SiliCloud

Comments

• Also, since my blogs will be aimed at Asian audience, do I really need that extra $8/year Singapore location? Or should I just configure Cloudflare and be done with it?

Server at a near location will definitely help.

I have no experience with VPS, but I believe I will be able to manage it. But I'm not sure I want to spend that much time figuring things out.

RackNerd VPS that you have mentioned here is an unmanaged VPS. So, you should have some knowledge how to manage a VPS and host websites.

If your websites do not need too much resources, you should stick with shared hosting or reseller hosting. Shared hosting is cheap and fully managed by the hosting provider.

Thanked by 1cname