Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Migrating KimSufi to new KimSufi with zero mysql downtime?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Migrating KimSufi to new KimSufi with zero mysql downtime?

Going to upgrade my KS-9 to a KS-17.

It's running LAMP, with debian, apache and mariadb.

I want to migrate to the new server with no more than a minute or two of down time, ideally none.

Now, I can easily get the new server set up and configured, thats fine, but my biggest concern is how I can keep the DB up and running, changes and all, while "switching" over.

the DB is around 10GB at present and theres probably 10-20 updates a second.

You can probably guess at this point, I have zero experience of replication or using mysql remotely.

I found a guide here: https://autoize.com/migrating-mysql-databases-with-no-downtime-for-non-dbas/

but I have a couple of questions:

1. Can I do this /without/ using SSL? theres no sensitive data in the DB and I'd like to avoid steps relating to certificate generation etc. plus it's probably quicker.
  2. with a master/slave configuration, if i make DB updates on the slave, will they be replicated to the master, or is syncing only one way? Because ideally I'd like to switch the services that are using the DB over one by one, which would mean that changes made to the DB on either server would need to be replicated, until I've finished moving them over and then I can switch off the master/old server.

Any help appreciated.

Comments

• SSL is not needed. Master-slave is one way (that is why it is called a slave).

You can set up replication in the other direction independently, so it is like a two-way street. But then you are responsible for not screwing it up by introducing inconsistencies.