Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What flavor Debian distro do newbies choose?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What flavor Debian distro do newbies choose?

wilbowilbo Member
edited April 2013 in General

What flavor distro do newbie VPS buyers get, Debian or Ubuntu? And if Ubuntu what release?
Let's just forget about CentOS in this discussion.

Comments

• I picked CentOS when I was a newbie. In my experience it seems like Ubuntu is preferred.

• Centos because they think that is what all the cool people use then they realized how much it sucks then they go to debian or ubuntu

• debian if low on memory, e.g. 128mb or less. ubuntu otherwise

• We see a mix of CentOS, Debian and Ubuntu. Usually the latest release available that we have.

• From my experience, I'd say Ubuntu. A long time ago, I used to use Red Hat/CentOS but after I tried Ubuntu, I never looked back.

• I prefer Ubuntu, always use the latest LTS (12.04 for now), the second choice is Debian.
    I also use ArchLinux if possible (not on OpenVZ).

• mikhomikho Member, Host Rep

Debian

• wilbowilbo Member

This is not a what distro do YOU prefer, it's a what distro do NEW CLIENTS prefer thread.

• DalCompDalComp Member
    edited April 2013

You killed the discussion by excluding CentOS...

• wilbowilbo Member

I'm making tutorials for newbies and I need to do one in Debian or Ubuntu, already have CentOS made. I just want to do it in the one that most newbies get when they get a new VPS.

• if you mean newbie, maybe ubuntu

• From my experience, CentOS because it is the "extension" of RHEL.

• Ubuntu is the easiest

• DavidxDavidx Member
    edited April 2013