Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What's your text editor of choice and why? - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What's your text editor of choice and why?

13»

Comments

• I use Atom.

• For Web Dev work, I love to use Brackets - Might have a look at Atom though.

• meatonmeaton Member

When I was a teenager my fellow sysadmin peers would always give me a hard time about using pico telling me REAL sysadmins use vi or vim. Peer pressure be damned because I use nano to this day on linux. I use Notepad++ on Windows. I really only use Notepad++ to read text files and for some light web development (my custom whmcs theme, html/css/js/php).

shovenose said: Notepad++ is too ugly

The Obsidian style with Notepad++ is sexy.

• nepsneps Member

Notepad++ always.

Even if I only have to change about a dozen lines, I'll SFTP in so I can use notepad++.

• Notepad++

Nano

• andreblueandreblue Member
    edited May 2016

I use Atom on windows for things that i do that are git based or ftp based. Notepad++ for everything else.
    Atom is quite nice if its a lot of writing you are doing, while notepad++ is just great all around
    Nano on linux, never got the hang of vi.

• emdademdad Member

Text editor or code, I use Sublime

• ricardoricardo Member

vim and how to quit it

I'd bet most people have the same issue, I know I did. I learnt about 1,$d not too long ago... pico always seemed easier to 'just use'.

Day to day I use gedit.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

jcaleb said: For development? Always go for products by JetBrains. So I think that would be PyCharm for you

That's an odd comment - what if I'm not writing Python?