Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do we need another open source webhosting panel?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Do we need another open source webhosting panel?

classyclassy Member
edited November 2015 in General

Hey guys,

I was looking at open source webhosting panels like Vesta, Ajenti-V, zPanel, etc.

But they all seem to either lack core features or are a little clunky, UI or install wise.

Would another open source panel benefit the community or am I jus missing something?

I am a Nodejs dev and if there's desire I will definitely try contribute something that is simple to use and does the job. But I need your input, and if it's worth it, I could use motivation / support :-)

Please let me know!

Is another open source panel a good thing?
  1. Opinion: (apart from the fact CLI > *)59 votes
    1. Yes, I don't think existing solutions are easy to use
      30.51%
    2. Yes, but it's not really needed, but always welcome
      33.90%
    3. No, you can customize existing panels enough
        0.00%
    4. No, you should try contribute to an existing project
      23.73%
    5. No, you're just tacky. Current solutions are plenty easy to use..
      11.86%

Comments

• @joepie91 is our nodejs guru.

• classyclassy Member
    edited November 2015

@ehab said:
    joepie91 is our nodejs guru.

I was the one who convinced him in the first place to use it :-) Back when he was still a python addict

Edit: not trying to imply anything. The implementation is not as relevant as the question itself

• @classy said:

so can i call you the jedi :D or what?

• @ehab said:

One day everything will be js!