Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hetzner: i7-3770 32 GB RAM 2x3TB 200Mbps for €34 (incl VAT)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

I am not a service provider, I dont know LET rules about posting. I am only posting because I thought this was a great deal (for me). So if I am unknowingly breaking any LET rules, please excuse. It doesnt benefit me at all.

Link http://www.hetzner.de/en/hosting/produkte_rootserver/st34
Extra IPs are €1 each.

I dont know public opinion about Hetzner (old hardware, etc), for me it is acceptable. I ordered 1 server yesterday and 1 more today. I actually need the disk space.. and I realize it might be overkill for most.. but its great for me.

Since VAT doesnt apply to me, my invoice automatically excludes VAT.. so for US$36 (no setup fee), this is excellent deal. (Only thing better would have been having same offer in US)

In my scenario, I prefer Raid-0 in CentOS 6.5. Sharing my steps for the rare person who needs the same:

STEP 1: Boot to rescue, delete old partitions and move to MBR to GPT

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=1
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=512 count=1
sgdisk -R /dev/sdb /dev/sda

STEP 2: Boot to VNC, and perform a GUI based CentOS installation. Now CentOS can be used with Raid-0

Thanked by 2amarc Blanoz

Comments

• i heard they were strict on torrents (even private torrent sites being used)

any comments the community can provide?

• Holy Moly.

• NeoonNeoon Community Contributor, Veteran

under 49EURO you have just ticket support/email no phone. Also not high priority, so.

• AmitzAmitz Member
    edited October 2014