Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Plex.tv alternatives? - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Plex.tv alternatives?

13»

Comments

• JoeBissJoeBiss Member

What is this? I'm sorry. I'm a noob.

So I have a server. I can download Serviio and stream the content on my TV? by streaming "downloading"? because my internet connection is pretty bad. Or I don't need it to download anything?

How does it work actually?

• NekkiNekki Veteran

JoeBiss said: How does it work actually?

It streams the video to your browser, so you'll need a reasonable internet connection for decent quality video. How bad is your internet?

• netomxnetomx Moderator, Veteran

@JoeBiss said:
    What is this? I'm sorry. I'm a noob.

So I have a server. I can download Serviio and stream the content on my TV? by streaming "downloading"? because my internet connection is pretty bad. Or I don't need it to download anything?

How does it work actually?

With plex, you can transcode to 320Kbps, tested on a 0.5Mb rural-area mobile plan.

• thagoatthagoat Member
    edited May 2015

Nekki said: Is Madsonic substantially better than Subsonic? If not, I'd prefer to give the Subsonic dev a few $ every year to help them keep improving.

>

Just offering folks a free alternative. I ran Subsonic for half the trial period and had the same user experience as Madsonic, so I can't relate a Plus/Minus scenario. I recommended Madsonic for those looking for a free alternative as I thought the OP was looking for.

• i still stand by plex ... even though the devs are idiots on not integrating SSL/TLS for over 1+ year(s).