Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Thinking of doing Xen Hosting - Am I crazy?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Thinking of doing Xen Hosting - Am I crazy?

WillOSWillOS Member
edited May 2012 in General

I've just acquired a dedicated server with the following specs:

Intel Core i7-3930K Hexacore

RAM 64 GB DDR3 RAM
Hard disks 2 x 3 TB SATA 6 Gb/s HDD
7200 rpm (Software-RAID 1)

I'm thinking of installing Xen and doing a little VPS hosting for friends, family and maybe some clients.

I have some experience with Linux and servers, but from what I've seen the hosting business can be fraught with dangers and problems.

My Questions are:

1. Is it worth doing considering the issues one might run into? Or should I stick to using other peoples VPS hosting?
  2. How much will I have to pay for the other hosting tools, SolusVM and WHMCompleteSolution for example? Any others needed?
  3. Are there any good tutorials, IRC channels, forums to help with ideal set ups?
  4. What do you use to monitor abuse?

Further information:

Thinking of keeping it very small and will probably never exceed 100 accounts. Perhaps that will make it more achievable.

Please shoot me down if you think it is a silly thing to do. Any criticisms or advice are very welcome.

Comments

• seikanseikan Member

I alway have the same thought too. But I never get started. I guess it's because I cannot take the risk.

• NateN34NateN34 Member

2x 3 TB 7200 rpm (Software-RAID 1)

Don't think that will go so well.

• WillOSWillOS Member

Can you elaborate please?

• Another hetzner server..

Okay lets get off the bat..
    around 12$ for WHMCS (if you get it from LicensePal)
    SolusVM with master + slave 12,50$
    That should be good..