Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

PHP-CGI vs PHP-FPM on NGINX
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

PHP-CGI vs PHP-FPM on NGINX

After optimizing our main website server today I decided to share my findings with you guys, let me know what you think about it here as I am no expert in this field and there is probably room for improvement.

http://www.bitaccel.com/blog/php-cgi-vs-php-fpm-on-nginx/

Thanked by 1Makenai

Comments

• Nice blog. I've never used php-cgi on my VPS, only php-fpm, so I can't confirm if the results you saw were typical or not, but I know my VPS has a very low load usually.

• Yeah so the special thing about fcgi vs CGI is every new request causes a fork pretty much as a new process. When using fastcgi it create a pool of processes that are pretty forked and scale up and down based on the number of used forks and it won't kill forks until x number of requests processed by that fork or to many idle forks. If u rerun your fastcgi with no max request count or what ever its called u will get better numbers but higher chance of men leak.

• @CharlesA said:
    Nice blog. I've never used php-cgi on my VPS, only php-fpm, so I can't confirm if the results you saw were typical or not, but I know my VPS has a very low load usually.

Yes I ran php-cgi for over a year with very low load and low ram usage, but what happens if your traffic explodes? You have to plan for the future. Also - if you are able to serve requests faster, load times go down.