Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

fiberia.io dropping IPv4 - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

fiberia.io dropping IPv4

13»

Comments

• edited February 2022

@desperand
    I'm not a network expert, but
    1. "Not only websites, but some softwares are IPv6 incompatible as well."
    This just reminded me of some open source games, which could have been played in multi-player mode flawlessly online.
    But their Client/Server mode is bounded to public IPv4, which was quite available 10 or 15 years ago in my country but quickly deprived of 5 or 6 years ago.

1. "IPv6 CIDR notation is humanly write only." (hardly readable)
      Well, I'm not an expert, but I've wondering for years why IPv6 is 128 bits instead of 64 bits.
      I mean MAC has an address space of 48 bits, and 64 bits should be sufficient for everyone. Why bother to assign an address to a gain of sand?

And why don't use 128-system to represent the binary address?
    I mean in that case, 2001:470:20::2 for instance, would be ~+-_*`~, isn't it lovely?

Maybe I should have consulted my teacher, but I doubt it.

Thanked by 1pan_ia0_net
  • Pointless

Thanked by 1pan_ia0_net
  • Why bother to assign an address to a gain of sand?

It would even be somewhat reasonable if there was one IP per grain. But each grain could get billions and we'd still have many many more available. It's ridiculous

Thanked by 1pan_ia0_net
  • ezethezeth Member, Patron Provider
    edited February 2022

but but. What if every atom needs its own IP?

there are only 3.4 x 10^38 IPv6 but 10^78 atoms in the universe. I think we need more IPs

No? Okay let's forget about it and make /64 the standard allocation instead of having a 64 bit IP system

Thanked by 1pan_ia0_net