Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

After 15 years of whipping Llama’s Ass WINAMP gonna be silenced forever - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

After 15 years of whipping Llama’s Ass WINAMP gonna be silenced forever

13»

Comments

• marcmmarcm Member
    edited November 2013

1) I've been using Winamp since 1997

2) AOL, as usual, is retarded. No surprise there.

3) iTunes ate Winamp's lunch

4) AOL should at least open source it and let the community take care of it. Dropping it and throwing the source code away somewhere under lock and key is stupid

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran

marcm said: AOL should at least open source it

Are you sure they will like everyone to know how bad their coding is ?

• Maounique said: Are you sure they will like everyone to know how bad their coding is ?

I can only imagine long variables, multiple lines of code that could have been compressed, but most of all outdated code from about 12 years ago or so. So I guess you're right, they don't.

Thanked by 1Maounique
  • Any good recommendations for big libraries? As in 500k+

marcm said: So I guess you're right, they don't.

This is a lose-lose situation for them.
    Don't give the code, you are a scrooge ass that prefer to kill a project than OS it;
    Give the code and either look bad coder or give out some secrets and backdoors.
    If I were them, I wouldnt open source it. There are enough clones out there.

• GaNiGaNi Member
    edited January 2014

WinAMP has been bought by Radionomy and is now being migrated.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57617187-93/winamp-survives-to-play-for-new-owner/

• This is a day that I for one will be wearing black, death of an era. Thanks for posting it.