Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Tempted by ChicagoVPS offer
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Tempted by ChicagoVPS offer

mjjohnsonmjjohnson Member
edited March 2012 in General

I'm new to the VPS market and I'm tempted by the offer ChicagoVPS just posted. It looks like a great deal; there's more RAM, storage, and transfer than I plan on needing. ChicagoVPS also seems to have a pretty good reputation, from what I can find. That said, I realize that for $7/month there have to be some compromises, so I figured I'd ask: what limitations should I know about? :) (E.g., how's the disk I/O, CPU availability, and so on.)

Here's what I might be hosting there: I have a project I've been kicking around for a while that would involve Django, Apache or nginx, memcached, MySQL, and full-text search, probably solr. Solr worries me a little since I've heard that Java doesn't always play nice with OpenVZ. But, I figure with this much RAM I shouldn't have any real issues. I'd also want to do some occasional PDF generation using LaTeX. I figure all of this should easily fit in the offer ChicagoVPS listed; however, do I really need all that RAM, or would I be just as well served going for a smaller VM from another well-regarded provider like Hostigation or BuyVM?

Comments

• @mjjohnson said: there's more RAM, storage, and transfer than I plan on needing

Then go with a company that offers less ressources for the same price. It will probably less oversold and your performance will be better.

• My advice would be keeping backups and be prepared to turn the other cheek.

• SrvisLLCSrvisLLC Member
    edited March 2012