Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need help to make a default filesystem
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need help to make a default filesystem

kidrockkidrock Member
edited December 2018 in Help

I am a novice vps user. I had purchased a vps package from one of the offers posted here during Black Friday. Need some help setting up the vps Ubuntu 16.04.

https://imgur.com/a/euR19lK

I had purchased a vps package from another company too and they have just one filesystem in which whatever I install is written there.

However, this vps has 2 filesystem (vda and vdb) and whatever I install is being written in vda (10GB) instead of vdb (30GB). In above image, default filesystem is vda1 but since I wanted to use vdb (30GB) as my default filesystem for vps, I followed the vps documentation above for merging vba and vdb. However, vdb is not working as my default filesystem. VPS support said they cannot help since this is unmanaged hosting. As a novice user, I couldn't understand much from reading Google results.

Can anybody please suggest me how to make 30GB vdb my default filesystem so that whatever I install is installed there not in 10GB vda? Thanks.

Comments

• If you do a "df -h" where does it show vdb as being mounted?

That mount point is where you then set your programs to be the default place to write to, which varies depending on the software of course.

• Below is th df -h results.

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    udev 487M 0 487M 0% /dev
    tmpfs 100M 11M 89M 11% /run
    /dev/vda1 7.4G 2.1G 5.3G 28% /
    tmpfs 497M 0 497M 0% /dev/shm
    tmpfs 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
    tmpfs 497M 0 497M 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    /dev/vdb 30G 44M 28G 1% /mnt
    tmpfs 100M 0 100M 0% /run/user/0

• @kidrock said: