Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

CentOS 6 Server Problem. Help Please
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

CentOS 6 Server Problem. Help Please

mahbubmahbub Member

I am new in server management. I recently setup centos 6 in virtualbox. Then I am trying to install nginx. In time I see I haven't install 'sudo' . Then I am trying to install sudo but it seems to me that 'apt-get' isn't installed. After that I appears to me that wget isn't installed. It is a great pain.

So I am trying to install wget by 'yum -y install wget' and this time I see following error:

Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?releas...x86_64&repo=os error was
14: PYCURL ERROR 6 - ""
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: base

Huh! I trying to solve this problem by searching google. I find a solution which is:

echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" >> /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver 8.8.4.4" >> /etc/resolv.conf
rpm -Uvh ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/redhat/linux...9.1-17.src.rpm

But after entering '/etc/resolv.conf' it says that:
"-bash : /etc/resolv.conf : permission denied"

To confirm my root privilege I entered command 'su -' but it don't want the password. Simply nothing happen after the command.

I am trying to understand server management so please help me. I will be great full to you.

Thanks,
mahbub

Comments

• I would not recommend CentOS to start learning Linux.

Debian or Ubuntu are much easier and more 'friendly'.

• edited August 2013

Have you tried 'su' without the hyphen. Do 'whoami' to make sure you are actually root.

Edit: Would have to partially agree with William, you seem to know about apt-get already so use whatever you have more experience in.

• @William said: