Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Apart from Let's encrypt, what other options exist to obtain free SSL certificates? - Page 4
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Apart from Let's encrypt, what other options exist to obtain free SSL certificates?

Comments

• @joepie91 said:
    And there we go again with the expert-sounding bullshit. The Infineon incident had absolutely nothing to do with TLS/SSL.

Except that is was everything to do with ssl/tls...

If you'd bothered to do even a modicum of research, you'd know that it concerned a bug in a hardware implementation of RSA.

... says clueless big snout joepie who evidently considers arstechnica as relevant and even a reference (somewhat like "I read popular mechanics. I'm a rocket scientist!").

As even simple reading obviously is intellectually out of reach for you, I'll make it easy and quote the relevant phrase directly for you -> "The flaw resides in the Infineon-developed RSA Library version v1.02.013,...". Library, not chip. Slight difference.

A closer look and understanding the hints ("Coppersmith attack") shows that rsa was cluelessly and carelessly implemented - and certified as secure! - and now the security reduction of rsa doesn't hold anymore ("factorization of sufficiently large n \elem N is NP") on many devices, id cards, etc.

rsa being one of the two basic modules available in ssl/tls PK (the other one being ecc) and ssl/tls using it since decades and fucking obviously still very often using and being based on it, it's really rich to say there is no connection whatsoever.

But then, you are a clueless big snout. qed.

• joepie91joepie91 Member, Patron Provider
    edited October 2017