Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Javascript help needed (returning the value from MySQL in a function) - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Javascript help needed (returning the value from MySQL in a function)

Comments

• KuJoeKuJoe Member, Host Rep

I don't really want to learn a new concept though. I'm not a software developer, I code for fun. If it's not fun it's not worth it for me.

• @KuJoe - I hope I'm not too late to provide some inputs.

Here's what is happening:

Sequentially - you are calling function GetQuote and (from the gist) all is well till line 11 (and line 10 correctly logs the "3" message). Line 11 is analogous to a background job. It is an async function and at this point a separate thread is forked off to execute the query. Because of the way it is setup, what happens when the query "completes" (returns), the separate thread will execute lines 12..17 of the gist (which is the body of the unnamed, inline function starting with the { on line 11 and ending on line 18.

Now the "main" thread continues along after the function (line 19) which then returns to the caller of GetQuote and continues to the console.log(msg) line [which is what you are using to call the funciton]. At this point, msg is undefined (out of scope in the main thread and so the undefined is logged).

Meanwhile in parallel the query is running in the separate thread and when it completes, execution continues to line 12 (gist) and you get the "4" logged after which the "correct" value is logged (gist line 15).