Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Convince Me To Buy A VPN
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Convince Me To Buy A VPN

NarutoNaruto Member
edited January 2012 in General

I live in the United States and I have never used a VPN before.

I like the idea of having a GUI to some remote machine, but other than that I can't think of any reason to use one.

Convince me why I should buy one. :)

Comments

• Just buy a VPS and install your own VPN on it :>

• 1) I don't know how to do that.

2) I'd still love to know why I should use a VPN.

3) If there is no viable reason for me to, that's okay... hoping there is though. I get bored. I need to know things that I can look back at and say "I'll never do it that way ever again." kind of like how I used to wipe towards the front.

• KuJoeKuJoe Member, Host Rep

Keep in mind that logging into a remote server/PC with a GUI is not considered a VPN. A VPN is more secure, faster, and easier to use.

If you ever connect to a public hotspot to check your e-mail or login to any websites/programs a VPN should be used to encrypt your data.

If your work/school blocks certain ports/content than a VPN is your best choice.

• So really unless there's something I can't access or if I want to look at illegal content under false information using some provider that doesn't look into that stuff, there's no real reason for ME to get one?

• Nope

But I prefer privacy when I am in public networks, so, I can bring up my VPN and browse with confidency.

• NarutoNaruto Member
    edited January 2012