Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Google now gives sites using SSL a ranking boost
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Google now gives sites using SSL a ranking boost

http://www.webmasterworld.com/google/4693628.htm

Expect a rush for SSL certificates and likely dedicated IPs. Most are under the impression that a unique IP is required.

Comments

• wychwych Member

Sick of reading this already.

Thanked by 4ATHK netomx mike0000 orak
  • ztecztec Member

Yeah, read this a million times already today.
    Still good that you posted this though.

• Yeah, it's more an SEO related topic but it definitely seems relevant to providers here, at least.

• I've been running a SSL only site for the past 6 months and I did see a ~400% increase in Google search traffic after I saw this update. Interesting.

• I just heard of this news from cloudflare.

• nexmarknexmark Member
    edited August 2014

"Sick of reading this already."

Yep

• That step from Google doesn't make sense to me. SSL is not needed everywhere, for many sites it would be useless overhead :(

Also, probably for Google cacert.org doesn't count as valid. Hmm wait, did Google recently begin to sell SSL certs? That would make a lot of sense.

• Google said it makes less than 1% of difference in their rankings, so it's just a minor nudge. If you have a valid SSL cert it just means you put more effort in making your website and shelled out some money for it too. I'd say that gives some small accreditation to the website.