Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!


Shells Virtual Desktop
BMail.ag - Secure Email Service
Server.net
CPLicense.net
VPS Server
Buy VPN
Vultr
VMs for AI
HostDare
ReliableSite White-Label Dedicated Hosting for Resellers
InterServer VPS
BMail.ag - Secure Email Service
Best VPN
High-Performance Bare Metal Server Solutions
Karvl.com
Server Mania Cloud Hosting
DataWagon Hosting
AlphaVPS Hosting
Evoxt.com
Clouvider
VPS Hosting with NVMe
Residential IPs in the US & 4G Mobile Proxies in EU & US with Unlimited Bandwidth
ReliableSite White-Label Dedicated Hosting for Resellers
Rabisu - Hosting Solutions
Shells Virtual Desktop
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Getting off of Spam Cannibal

grostongroston Member

All,

My site, and email, are hosted by Liquid Solutions. I have been with them for two months now and I believe that there has only been one, brief outage. The value is good and I am basically satisfied. However...

To help keep an eye on things, I get a weekly report from Mx Toolbox, and every week, it reports that my IP address is black-listed by Spam Cannibal.

My IP address is 192.210.231.120 and this is the Spam Cannibal report:
pairofdocs.net
generic/anonymous/un-named IP

The problem does not relate to a missing rDNS record. If you visit www.dnsgoodies.com/ and drop my IP address into the Reverse DNS lookup, you do get a response:

Server: 4.2.2.1
Address: 4.2.2.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
120.231.210.192.in-addr.arpa name = pairofdocs.net.

Authoritative answers can be found from:

Last week, in an attempt to resolve this problem, I carefully checked my DNS records and found some issues with my SPF records - which I fixed. However, my IP address continues to be listed on Spam Cannibal.

Can you please offer specific suggestions for resolving this problem? My VPS provider does not seem to think that anything is wrong - do I need to go directly to ColoCrossing with this issue? If so, what specifically should I ask?

Comments

  • AlexanderMAlexanderM Member, Patron Provider, Top Host

    Is it your IP That is listed, or the IP Subnet?

  • Good question - I do not know the answer or how to find out. Any suggestions?

  • MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran

    Spam cannibal is a scam, you should be able to safely ignore them.

  • NekkiNekki Veteran

    @Maounique said:
    Spam cannibal is a scam, you should be able to safely ignore them.

    Can you elaborate on that a little? I've been provided IP's that were blacklisted on Spam Cannibal when I got them, so I'm interested to know exactly what they are.

  • PatrickPatrick Member
    edited March 2014

    @Nekki said:
    Can you elaborate on that a little? I've been provided IP's that were blacklisted on Spam Cannibal when I got them, so I'm interested to know exactly what they are.

    They list anyone who doesn't have a valid rDNS (with a A record), and usually just black list whole range even though they may have never sent email.

  • Maounique - Spam Cannibal may be a scam (I cannot judge this), but I strongly suspect that the reason they provide for my IP's being blocked is the same reason that my IP is blocked by Verizon and ATT.

    When I sent an email to a Verizon address, I got the following:

    host relay.verizon.net[206.46.232.11] refused to talk to me: 571 Email from 192.210.231.120 is currently blocked by Verizon Online's anti-spam system. The email sender or Email Service Provider may visit http://www.verizon.net/whitelist and request removal of the block. 140313

    When I entered the requested information into the site listed, I received an email with the following:

    After investigation, Verizon Online Security has determined that e-mail from your IP address will not be allowed access to the Verizon Online e-mail domain due to one or more of the following reasons:

    Your IP has been blocked because of spam issues or because your ISP indicates that it is dynamically assigned

    To me, "dynamically assigned" sounds suspiciously like "generic/anonymous/un-named IP". So, back to the original question - how do I resolve this problem?

  • DeanDean Member

    Once you've fixed rDNS, you need to contact them to get delisted.
    http://www.spamcannibal.org/cannibal.cgi - then scroll to the bottom.

  • More information: Checking with apews.org:

    Oooops 192.210.231.120 is currently listed in APEWS :-(
    Entry matching your Query: E-633691
    192.210.128.0/17CASE: C-131
    Unallocated CIDR, no traffic until allocated,
    or allocated to bad reputation provider
    or allocated but dynamic / generically named IPs,
    or bogons, see www.cidr-report.org,
    or orphaned IP / CIDR in routing tableHistory:
    Entry created 2013-06-25

    The concept of "dynamic / generically named IPs" appears yet again.

  • Apews is dead, ignore it.

  • DeanDean Member

    It's down to rDNS.. they don't believe you've got a static IP address.
    When was the rDNS set? It may be that it's not propogated to their system... tell them to check again as it's a static IP address.

Sign In or Register to comment.