Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Winsock error 10053 on vast majority of VPS providers
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Winsock error 10053 on vast majority of VPS providers

I am a developer of high-frequency trading software, and in the past couple of months, I have been trying to start using VPS to run my software 24/7 instead of my home PC. My software on average is consuming 10-15 mb/s (around 5 TB/month) of bandwidth and sends around 20-100 requests per second.

The main issue is that while it can run on my home PC network without any issues, nearly all VPS providers that I have tried, small and large, are severely rate-limiting my software's performance. Nearly all of my requests are being canceled, with "ConnectionAbortedError: [WinError 10053] An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine" error message being spammed in the program's console. With that, I can only send around 5-10 requests per second without getting rate-limited.

When asking VPS providers for support regarding it, they have absolutely no idea, saying that it's my software that is causing the issue. However, if that has been the case, I wouldn't be able to run the program on my home network, or other people's home PCs.

Maybe bright minds here can enlighten us on what can be causing this issue, and if it's really my program's fault, or if VPS providers indeed do rate-limit requests/second that their clients
can send.

Comments

• xTomxTom Member, Patron Provider

You may need to check your CPU usage, for most VPS providers CPU resources are shared not dedicated.

• @xTom said:
    You may need to check your CPU usage, for most VPS providers CPU resources are shared not dedicated.