Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Your Opinions for Xeon vs Ryzen (Threads Performances)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Your Opinions for Xeon vs Ryzen (Threads Performances)

Hi Folks!

Kindly need your 2 cents about server performance comparison

Xeon with 40 threads vs Ryzen with 24 threads

If I slice it into 8 VPSes with maximum threads based on server specs using virtualizor,

(Xeon: 100% of 5 threads for each VPSes)
(Ryzen: 100% of 3 threads for each VPSes)

Does the Ryzen will do same performance or even better than the Xeon?
Or it still depends on thread numbers?

I'm an amateur and on my way to learn about virtualization.
Sorry for my bad English, hope you guys understand my intention.

Thank you for your time.

Thanked by 1BasToTheMax

Comments

• rober7rober7 Member

Depends on the workload of every VPS.
    What types of processors are you talking about?

• What type of processors?

• @rober7 said:
    What types of processors are you talking about?

Workloads of every VPS will be same since I use it for my personal chrome project that requires intensive CPU usage for 1-2 hours.

Around Xeon E5-2640v4 and Ryzen 3900 series

• @febryanvaldo said:
    What type of processors?

Around Xeon E5-2640v4 and Ryzen 3900 series

• ralfralf Member
    edited May 2023

@Patriarch said:

@rober7 said:

Workloads of every VPS will be same since I use it for my personal chrome project that requires intensive CPU usage for 1-2 hours.

If these things are mostly idle and just burst to high usage for 1-2 hours and then have several hours of idle AND if they're idle at different times, you might find it best to just give each VPS a mix of dedicated and a shared vCPU.