Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mail hosting use-case question Migadu/MXRoute/others?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Mail hosting use-case question Migadu/MXRoute/others?

I'm on the hunt for a new mail hosting company. I've been with Host Gator for years but their gawdawful customer service and mediocre performance has me looking to make a change (in the short term they would still be handling my DNS).

I'm a network security engineer who operates two domains, one for a business I own and one personal. There are about 10 mailboxes between the two domains and no more than a few hundred emails in/out of all accounts per day. I know a lot about internet security, but not much about email.

I run a mail filter/gateway security appliance that receives my incoming mail and then sends it back to the mail provider. This is not working well with Host Gator and I haven't been able to figure out why. Basically sometimes with Host Gator I can see the mail appliance sent the mail but it doesn't show up in my inbox. Other times it does.

Basically I point MX record to this box (FortiMail) which does threat protection and spam filtering on the mail feed and then sends it out to the host on SMTP port 25. Clients then get their mail from the mail host.

Is this a pretty basic thing or would it require specific capabilities from a hosting company? Is there any concern about my mail being marked spammy if it comes through the relay? AFAIK the relay doesn't alter anything in the mail headers other than that it will be transmitted "from" an IP that isn't an IP owned by the original sender, so not sure if this instantly causes a failed SPF check.