Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What's your experience with Gcore free CDN ?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What's your experience with Gcore free CDN ?

So I Have a VPS located in NY hosting my wordpress website and was looking for a free/cheap CDN to make my website load faster for Europe and Asian visitors,after a little search I found Gcore Labs offering free 1TB so I sign up and connected the CDN to my website and did some tests comparisons between Website+CDN+LiteSpeed Cache Vs Website+LiteSpeed Cache and surprisingly my website without the CDN perform better ! which is clearly so strange ! I'm not a techie guy (it took me a whole day to make it work :neutral:) so I'm not sure if it is my misconfiguration of the CDN or Gcore CDN being so average ? the tools I used to test the website speed :

https://pagespeed.web.dev/
https://tools.keycdn.com/performance
https://gtmetrix.com/

What have been your experience with this CDN so far and any configurations tips you can give me to make the best out of it ?

Comments

• ralfralf Member

I've got no specific experience with any CDN networks, so this is just based on using haproxy and squid on my own systems.

Unless the majority of your data is static, accessed via fixed URLs and explicitly marked as cacheable in the header responses, all you're doing by using CDN is adding another layer of indirection in the request, so it would naturally be slowly.

Some things will also prevent caching in general, for instance the presence of Authorization: headers in the request.

Thanked by 1kiosv
  • What's your experience with Gcore free CDN ?

It's free

• is only 1TB/Month is free ?

• Migrated to gcore couple days ago from bunny so can't say anything about how it is in long run.