Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Fastest backup tool for Linux? Possibly FOSS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Fastest backup tool for Linux? Possibly FOSS

I have been using Kopia for a few months and I like it, it's faster than Restic but now I am restoring 300+ GB and it's estimating 3h20m (backup is in iDrive e2). What is the fastest backup tool for Linux, possibly FOSS, that supports S3?

Second question, would backup and restores be faster using Borg and a Hetzner Storage Box, therefore over SSH?

Comments

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

Is the issue really the software choice or is it iDrive or the network in between?

1gbps is 125MB/sec theoretical (you'll never see that). You're only getting 25MB/sec though so surely there is room for improvement. Is this a VPS?

• @raindog308 said:
    Is the issue really the software choice or is it iDrive or the network in between?

1gbps is 125MB/sec theoretical (you'll never see that). You're only getting 25MB/sec though so surely there is room for improvement. Is this a VPS?

iDrive is even faster than Wasabi from my other tests concerning purely the storage. And it's a ton faster than Backblaze B2 and others. It's a Hetzner dedicated server

• Expect all storage providers to throttle your I/O in one way or another.
    What is the real question here? If you want a real block performance, it will
    cost. Not extremely expensive, but it will cost. All those shitty "backup solutions"
    are not really up for what you are paying. Want a small life-hack? Post it on Usenet.
    But you must be somewhat tech-savvy around how it works and then you can have
    5000+ days of retention. Just protect it with a rar+password and have even 1PB.