Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Guide: Install a new OS (AlmaLinux 9) on a VPS that can't mount custom ISO's
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Guide: Install a new OS (AlmaLinux 9) on a VPS that can't mount custom ISO's

broodyrbroodyr Member
edited July 2022 in Tutorials

Like a lot of you, I've been holding out with CentOS 7 for many years on my VPS. VirMach recently migrated VPS's to higher performance servers and CentOS 9 & derivatives were just coming out, and so I decided what better time to finally upgrade. Since custom ISO mounts weren't available, and there were no re-install templates for it, I had to make a request ticket. After waiting.. a little while.. on VirMach to respond to my own measly ticket among the flood of tickets they've been receiving, I decided to take matters into my own hands. The past 12 hours contained a lot of blood, sweat, and tears, but I was finally able to install AlmaLinux 9 on my own - quite a feat, given my skills. I made a (hopefully fool-proof) guide so you can do it yourself without all that. Let me know if there's any issues that aren't super specific to your setup and I'll see if it's something I can add/fix. Credit to AndersonIncorp on GitHub, for providing the starting point for my guide and 'adventure'.

Install OS (RHEL 9/CentOS 9/AlmaLinux 9/Rocky Linux 9/other) on a VPS without the ability to mount custom ISO's

Note: As far as I know, the only way to complete some of these steps (booting into grub options & using Tiny Core Linux) is using a VNC connection to your server (typically provided by your server host) or some alternative that allows you to view the system as it's booting up.

Recommended starting OS is CentOS 7/8 or derivative.

Install Tiny Core Linux into grub