Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Recommendation for *simple* virtualisation on home PC
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Recommendation for *simple* virtualisation on home PC

Hi

I'm new to configuring virtualisation software, and I now have a need to run it at home on a small Mini PC I have. I need to run two virtual environments, one will run Ubuntu Server 20.04 and the other will run Ubuntu Desktop 20.04. Being my own PC, I don't really mind if the resources are shared, I just need to keep them separate.

I've read a bit about OpenVZ, KVM, LXC, Proxmox etc - does anyone know which type of virtualisation would be the easiest to configure and maintain? I really just want to get down to business and work in my two virtual environments, and no have to worry too much about the virtualisation platform itself, once it's up and running... so easy is key.

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• rm_rm_ IPv6 Advocate, Veteran
    edited June 2022

If you need to "work", as in use a keyboard-mouse-monitor-GUI on the Mini PC itself, then none of what you listed sound like the best choices (though KVM is likely to be utilized under the hood at some point).

One setup that comes to mind, is to install Ubuntu Desktop on the machine itself (directly on hardware), then install VirtualBox on that, and run an Ubuntu Server virtual machine inside.

Otherwise it sounds a bit puzzling why you need two separate Ubuntu systems, likely what you actually want to do is easily achievable within one single OS for both tasks.

Thanked by 1fixxation