Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS behind a regular NAT with access to its router
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS behind a regular NAT with access to its router

robertsdotpmrobertsdotpm Member
edited May 2022 in Requests

Hello, I am a software engineer developing peer-to-peer networking code and I'm very interested to see if any hosts could hook me up with a shell on a device behind a regular, consumer-grade router (or perhaps a router with a ubiquitous firmware like Open-WRT.) It would be ideal if I had access to the router; it supported UPnP; and supported IPv4 and IPv6.

I am aware of hosts that offer 'NATed VPS' but they usually control how ports are assigned to the VPS and I would need to have a regular NAT for testing port opening and NAT traversal code. It would also be an advantage if I could get multiple offers in geographically distant locations as P2P code needs two to tango.

I will be sending minimal traffic on these devices and only require that they be able to run Python 3 without running out resources. By the way: if anyone wants to self-host me on their own LAN then I have no requirement for this to be commercially hosted (as long as you own the computers of course!) It would actually be better if this were hosted by regular users and not in a data center so I could test more realistic networking conditions.

Thanks for reading!

Comments

• Just buy a 911.re package and you can have all the residential compromised computers you want.

• fynixfynix Member

@dane_doherty said: you can have all the residential compromised computers you want

And you are suggesting this?

• Sounds shady.

Congrats on your first post!

• @Peppery9 said:
    Sounds shady.

Congrats on your first post!