Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Offering BGP Session to VPS clients. Any downsides?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Offering BGP Session to VPS clients. Any downsides?

CloudxtnyHostCloudxtnyHost Member, Host Rep

I have always assumed that BGP sessions are only really necessary between providers but I have a VPS client asking if it's something We can offer and I am a little worried about the implications. At the expense of sounding naive, why would you need to setup a BGP session on a VPS?

Thanked by 1mcgree

Comments

• JamChoiJamChoi Member
    edited October 2021

It's me(: ticket id is #961429

I'm studying how to use BGP.

I have my own ASN, only for edu now.

At the same time, I have a blog for VPS review, there is a tag about providers who suppport BGP Session

• dfroedfroe Member, Host Rep

If you want to learn how to use BGP, use DN42 or simply create you own lab with GNS3 where you can play with dozens of routers, create all kind of scenarios and mess up things, much more educating than just announcing a subnet on the public internet.

• @dfroe said:
    If you want to learn how to use BGP, use DN42 or simply create you own lab with GNS3 where you can play with dozens of routers, create all kind of scenarios and mess up things, much more educating than just announcing a subnet on the public internet.

Of course you are right, I can use DN42 or GNS3 instead of the very poor IPv6 subnet, but I also have the right to choose which one to use, don’t I? :smile:

• stratagemstratagem Member, Host Rep

Provided you confirm correct ROAs etc and ensure you have setup filtering correctly, then there is nothing wrong with it. We have a session up with @JamChoi currently.