Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

512MB RAM will be enough for a single website?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

512MB RAM will be enough for a single website?

Hi,
We run a single website (wordpress based) on a Xen VPS server with 1GB RAM. The website gets around 8k - 9k visitors per day and 30k+ page views.

The server is running on nginx, memcached, ngx_pagespeed.

We are thinking to downgrade to a 512MB OVZ or KVM VPS to minimize the cost. Avg. memory consumption stays like this always (check image below).

Your suggestion will be appreciated. Sorry for noob questions, I am new to VPS world

Comments

• Don't touch it if it works.

Thanked by 2ska vps_learner
  • Clearly OpenVZ won't work. I think KVM might do, but if on one day your site suddenly grows a lot of visitors, 512MB may fail. I would suggest you stay on 1024MB Xen ( I think it's Linode, and you are thinking of downgrading to Digital Ocean? )

Thanked by 1vps_learner
  • sleddogsleddog Member
    edited August 2013

Agree with @serverian.

Unless you substantially reduce the actual memory consumption (459 MB) then running on a 512MB VPS is asking for trouble. And reconfiguring to reduce memory usage will likely affect performance.

Thanked by 1vps_learner
  • @sundaymouse said:
    Clearly OpenVZ won't work. I think KVM might do, but if on one day your site suddenly grows a lot of visitors, 512MB may fail. I would suggest you stay on 1024MB Xen ( I think it's Linode, and you are thinking of downgrading to Digital Ocean? )

Thanks for your response. We may not downgrade but we are probably going to migrate to another provider (KVM) with 1GB RAM. No, it's not Linode and DO. Perhaps we will go with RamNode since they have a 35% promo going on.