Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Tiny Tiny RSS VPS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Tiny Tiny RSS VPS

BlazeMuisBlazeMuis Member
edited June 2013 in General

I'm looking for a VPS which is suitable for Tiny Tiny RSS
I have never used this before, and i also have no idea how much RAM/Memory it uses

Anyone here running Tiny Tiny RSS?, if so, could you tell me how much it's using?

Thanked by 1flrichar

Comments

• wdqwdq Member

I have mine on a 256MB Hostigation VPS. It runs well with a few other websites on the VPS. If your VPS can run a web application stack it should work well for Tiny Tiny RSS as well.

• joepie91joepie91 Member, Patron Provider

Note: I haven't actually used tt-rss. I'm deriving this from the experience I've had with PHP, MySQL and PostgreSQL in general.

PHP scripts can be quite light on RAM. If you assume a lighttpd/nginx stack with PHP (without a database), you'd be able to run a light-weight script on 128 or perhaps 256MB RAM with an out-of-the-box configuration, without any performance or resources usage tweaks. That includes handling reasonable traffic peaks.

Now the bottleneck here is going to be the database.

From my (admittedly very limited) experience with PostgreSQL, it appears to be heavier on CPU, slightly heavier on RAM usage, but a lot faster than MySQL. If speed is not a critical factor, I'd advise you to go with MySQL (unless someone else here knows more about PostgreSQL and can explain how to make it run lighter than MySQL, especially since tt-rss requires InnoDB support in MySQL).