Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Where's your windows's license from?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Where's your windows's license from?

gizzvngizzvn Member
edited June 2013 in General

Well i alway use my MSDN account to get windows's licenses for my computer and servers. What about you guys? Do u buy it at store, or from some cheap sellers or buy direct from hosting,dedicated providers?

Comments

• Had it for free when I was a student at Rutgers. Used the key once for a month. If I decide to get another Windows VPS, am I allowed to use that same key again?

• gizzvngizzvn Member

@seraphkz: No, you cant. Every key can active only one computer :P

• Depends if it was a multiple activation key.

• @zfedora said:
    Depends if it was a multiple activation key.

Is there a way to check that?

p.s. sorry for hijacking the thread

• If you still have access to MSDN;

Otherwise, I'm not sure really. Best way would be to try it out :)

• Dreamspark (for my one Windows Server), and my school's Educational Volume Licensing agreement (which has pretty awesome T&C) for Win7/8.

• Windows SPLA program.

• gizzvngizzvn Member
    edited June 2013

@concerto49: u are hosting provider so of course, u must have it for your customers :P
    Seem like everyone most gets their keys from school. But what will u do if u have more VPSes? U cant get free forever :)

• Dreamspark for Windows Server 2012 Datacenter.

• @gizzvn said:
    concerto49: u are hosting provider so of course, u must have it for your customers :P
    Seem like everyone most gets their keys from school. But what will u do if u have more VPSes? U cant get free forever :)

Stop using Windows...?

• @gizzvn said: