Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Colocation for colo-newbie. Good or bad idea?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Colocation for colo-newbie. Good or bad idea?

Hey guys

I have zero knowledge about colocation and im wondering if colocation is something much "harder" than renting dedicated servers, more knowledge is needed etc. Im thinking about buying one second hand dual 2670v2 server and colocating it somewhere. Good or bad idea?

Comments

• Awmusic12635Awmusic12635 Member, Host Rep

It is harder if you don't know anything about it I would not recommend it.

• drserverdrserver Member, Host Rep

dodheimsgard said: Hey guys

I have zero knowledge about colocation and im wondering if colocation is something much "harder" than renting dedicated servers, more knowledge is needed etc. Im thinking about buying one second hand dual 2670v2 server and colocating it somewhere. Good or bad idea?

That is recommended approach if you have money to buy a server. Few things to know, buy some spares (identical raid card and few drives are a MUST) and be ready to pay for remote hands.

Whole thing is not much different than renting dedicated server except stock and remote hand aspect.

Thanked by 1dodheimsgard
  • HarambeHarambe Member, Host Rep

I don't find the process that much more difficult than renting a dedicated server, assuming you understand basic networking, hardware and can handle your own (remote) OS installs.