Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS for Nextcloud and Few Websites Newbie
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS for Nextcloud and Few Websites Newbie

manjuxmanjux Member
edited June 2018 in Help

Hi everyone,
Glad to find out LowEndTalk some time ago and decided to finally registered. I have a question (maybe a few) and need some advise. I'm a linux user but a complete noob regarding how to set up a server. Nevertheless I'm willing to dedicate time towards it.

I currently have Nextcloud **on shared hosting **plus two or three websites running with Wordpress and Grav CMS. My Nextcloud is a backup for home notebooks and needs some 80 - 100GB. The websites are pretty simple setups and eventually don't even spend many gigabytes.They're not established business or something, but I need some flexibility there.

I have seen a lot of offers around and researched a lot about it, but I just can't decide between KVM OpenVZ SSD/HDD and other features.

What do you believe is better:

• To sign for two different accounts? One to set up Nextcloud on it and another to mess around where I put the websites?
  • Or eventually just a single VPS for everything?

I also saw that there are providers offering many image templates, some of them have already debian+nextcloud, for example, that can make the process easier. At the same time, even though VPS is unmanaged, some providers offer some degree of protection or easier setups, I believe.

I am willing to spend €15 - €20 per month. What's the best use and what do you think I can get?
Many thanks for the help...

Comments

• I would suggest looking into a storage VPS for nexCloud since using it on shared hosting isn't something a lot of hosts allow.