Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Digital Ocean is doing it right
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Digital Ocean is doing it right

pavspavs Member

I have been using VPS for quite a few years now. And I have tried all kinds from quite a few providers, even outside the eco-chamber of LET/LEB. Though I have really enjoyed some of the providers I have tried from here, the one that really hit the spot for me is DigitalOcean.

DO reminds me of Slicehost, I really really liked slicehost. I thought it was way ahead of its time, the only problem with it was that it wasn't reasonably priced. Which is why linode ate some of its business. Now I think history is repeating itself as I believe DO is eating Linode business, both by undercutting them, being better product and security problem with Linode itself.

I admit that DO is still seems "unpolished" in some ways, as they always seemed to be experimenting with features and some of their pricing model, like bandwidth, backup, snapshots, and deploying snapshots to all region are not clear or even non-existent. But even at its "unpolished" state, it seems quite ahead in terms features and simplicity and pricing model.

Last year I had a problem with making online payments from the country I am currently living in. So I asked LET community to sponsor a server. Alex_LiquidHost from Liquid Solutions was kind enough to sponsor my server for one year. Never had a problem in one year.