Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Looking for advice for renting 100 instances of windows
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Looking for advice for renting 100 instances of windows

In the first topic i created seeking these 100 instances of windows @ a cheap rate, someone brought up a very interesting point: why not just use multiple window user accounts? As I don't need mulitple dedicated ips - one would be enough. My question is twofold: would multiple user accounts reduce hardware overhead compared to running VM's? I would assume so, but I am not an expert on these matters. Also, the rates im seeing for 100 windows VM's is about $3/mo for the cheapest - would I see a price decrease if i went dedicated and just created user accounts? Also, can these user accounts all be logged in at the same time using remote desktop software such as RDP or teamviewer? Thanks..

Comments

• Oh wow, that was a quick response! What kind of hardware would I need to handle 100 live windows sessions all running very lightweight (browser + maybe some small piece of software + remote desktop running)

• racksxracksx Member
    edited June 2017

E5 - 64/128GB RAM/ SSD a good knowledge of active directory and users permissions

Thanked by 1[Deleted User]
  • how many cores would i need?

• ChristianDSHChristianDSH Member, Host Rep
    edited June 2017

racksx said: E5 - 64/128GB RAM/ SSD a good knowledge of active directory and users permissions

And a bunch of CALs for your users, since only 2-3 sessions at once are possible without CALs on windows server 2012 for example.

Thanked by 1netomx