Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GUI on Centos 7.3 on Dedicated Server?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

GUI on Centos 7.3 on Dedicated Server?

Has anyone been able to setup a GUI (light weight like Xfce) on a remote dedicated Kimsufi server? I currently have the Kimsufi i3 machines with centos 7.3 installed.. So far, I have been unsuccessful..

After installing xfce/ tigervnc-server, I end up getting a "gray" screen in VNC but no desktop. I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

I used http://www.tuxfixer.com/install-xfce-4-desktop-environment-on-centos-7/ as a reference.

Any steps/ tutorial to get it working?

Comments

• TheOnlyDKTheOnlyDK Member
    edited December 2016

I'm not an expert on this, but try this and see if it works, reboot afterward just to be sure.

EDIT: CloudFlare hates code, so let's use pastebin

http://pastebin.com/cXq1yiju

• First, try to find out if your installation was successful. (KVM-over-IP or htop and search for the desktop-enviroment process).
    If its running, i would recommend you to install x2go instead of tiger-vnc. X2go is available for MAC/Windows/Linux and uses some kind of compression to enhance the rDesktop feeling.

• @iffi said:
    First, try to find out if your installation was successful. (KVM-over-IP or htop and search for the desktop-enviroment process).
    If its running, i would recommend you to install x2go instead of tiger-vnc. X2go is available for MAC/Windows/Linux and uses some kind of compression to enhance the rDesktop feeling.

This does not have KVM... Simple ssh only

• @TheOnlyDK said:
    I'm not an expert on this, but try this and see if it works, reboot afterward just to be sure.

EDIT: CloudFlare hates code, so let's use pastebin