Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Request for Feedback on OwnCloud
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Request for Feedback on OwnCloud

What do you think of owncloud? Worth using? Is it safe?
I did a google search, not helpful in what I am looking for... looking for opinions of people on LET community.

Comments

• I've been using it for about 3 years as the backend interface for a shared Plex server. Various users have access to shared folders and the upload videos to folders, which Plex watches.

Got a couple of thousand files on there now and I've always found it to be pretty fast and responsive, even in directories with hundreds of files. Any tweaking for perfomance had been minimal and I use something very close to an out of the box install.

The sync client is...acceptable, definitely not Dropbox standard but it more or less works.

• alownalown Member
    edited December 2016

I use it quite a bit (technically, I use NextCloud, but no real difference yet). I especially like it for using CODE, email, calendar, etc... it kind of replaces gsuite for a few friends and I. Doesn't take a big toll on the server. I can't remember what Plex did to annoy me, but it got replaced by Emby in that set up. There are some plugins for watching things directly in OwnCloud, but they're not very robust.

• huntercophuntercop Member
    edited December 2016

@Nekki said:
    I've been using it for about 3 years as the backend interface for a shared Plex server. Various users have access to shared folders and the upload videos to folders, which Plex watches.