Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to configure a vps?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How to configure a vps?

Hello,

I have a wordpress blog that talks about sensitive computing.
Do not find my happiness with shared offshore hosting.

I wish to take an offshore VPS (RU | UKRA). However, I am not an expert at configuring a vps.
I would like to know if you have tutorials or videos for:

• Securing the VPS (Update, firewall ect)
  • The installation of wordpress (creation of database / installation of phpmyadmin etc ...)

In addition, I already have an active domain name at namech3ap. How should I do so that the domain name points to the ip address of my vps?

Is it possible to have cloudfare as protection? In order to avoid the ddos and remain anonymous compared to the ip address of my vps.

Thank you for your reply

Comments

• are you a journalist?

you can set this up with vpssim or centminmod, in addition you can change the ssh port and also install fail2ban, change root user

for your wordpress you can install ithemes security or bulletproof security plugin, etc .

• Ensure you run all updates from the base OS, Install a Text editor like Nano for ease of chainging config files.

Install something like Virtualmin (free from https://www.virtualmin.com/download.html), a Hosting Control panel. they come with everything you need to host and run a website, Apache, MySQL, Postfix email etc. all in one install.

You can also install CSF firewall to work with Virtualmin (https://download.configserver.com/csf/install.txt)

theres tons of online help and information for both systems. you can have your VPS up and running in about 1 hour