Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

your opinion on VPS vs dedicated (for app use in Asia)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

your opinion on VPS vs dedicated (for app use in Asia)

seizureseizure Member
edited November 2016 in General

bear with me as i'm new to this.

i'm developing (in VN) and testing an app in Asia... (SG/HK)

currently we're using a test server with 1GB ram for our app's DB/auth/storage. it is an OpenVZ VPS account and it works fine for testing.

for initial production use, we're considering migrating to another OVZ account with more memory (Couchbase recommends 16GB of ram).

i then thought that we should be getting two VPS for redundancy - located on physically separate servers.

the best pricing (high ram SG accounts) i've seen currently are about $35/month/OVZ account for 8GB of RAM.

i understand that KVMs appear to be more "reliable" than OVZ, however the options for SG KVM seem limited - a little more than double the price of OVZ at about $80/month/SG account.

as i'm working on quite a small (personally funded) budget, i'm unsure if this is the right step forward...

instead of considering 2 x OVZ, should we get only 1 x KVM? or would we be better off getting 1 dedicated server? (this would likely cost us about $200/month for a dedicated SG server with 8GB of ram, something we're unable to afford right now unless absolutely necessary)

if it makes any different - we were previously using AWS and it was costing us about US$35/month, AND we don't have a big budget to work with at the moment.

any advice or leads greatly appreciated - SG preferred, but anything in Asia with reliable routing to VN would work too.