Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Beginner Coder]Looking for Feedback on my Website
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

[Beginner Coder]Looking for Feedback on my Website

YmpkerYmpker Member
edited November 2016 in General

So I did tell you guys, I do Webdevelopment as a hobby, right? :D

Anyway I am still a beginner when it comes to hardcoding but I tried to scramble all my knowledge I have so far of programming languages and web frameworks/libs (HTML, CSS, JS, jQuery, Bootstrap) together and create an own Animelist :) Ultimately I want it to work like MyAnimeList but I have waaays to go^^
Anyway looking for feedback and what to improve. Also please TEST the site for it's functionality :P
As I learn more about Webdevelopment I plan to add a user login area, an episode counter...&much more ofc! Gimme your ideas!

Website (live version): http://web.nicos-web.com

GitHub (full source): https://github.com/NicolasLoew/webprojects/tree/master/MyAnimeList

Comments

• Why do you have a login / register function that ties to nothing?

Thanked by 2GCat Ympker
  • It's alright for starters

• For a project that's based off the bootstrap framework it's a good way to get "started."
    But you should really look into how to make your own custom sites without the help of additional frameworks. Gives you a better understanding about CSS/HTML etc. Also don't be afraid to sketch out on paper what you want a site to look like. Sometimes that's always a good method for physical representation to help you keep on track!

~ Beard

Thanked by 2GCat Ympker
  • Do you have an anime database ? If not, that's where I'd start.

I personally do :

1. database;

2. sketch;

3. html/css/js;

4. PHP (setup routes and work with the db);