Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Runnin WP site on 256 or 512 MB RAM
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Runnin WP site on 256 or 512 MB RAM

netbearnetbear Member
edited December 2011 in General

Hi every1. I am new to VPS hosting & i want to move one of the blog hosted on free blogger platform to a selfhosted Wordpress.

Currently the blog receives around 25k-30k/ day visitors with 75k page views /day.I have designed a minimalistic WP & will be installing it.The blog will be updated once every 2 days.

Could you tell me whether to go with 256 MB or 512 MB RAM?

Comments

• Are you running any caches, or just a straight WP installation>

• I'm not really sure but i think 256mb should be enough if u tune it decently (nginx, caching plugins for wordpress, etc)

Did you check that the free blogger platform lets you make a backup of the database?

• SpeedBusSpeedBus Member, Host Rep

Well, it also depends on what webserver you will be using,
    If you use apache you'll need more than 512 MB RAM if you get so many hits,

and as @Damian4IPXcore asked, are you using any caching plugins or memcache(d) ?

and which OS will you use ?

All these factors make huge differences in VPS's.

• Why not start of with 256MB and upgrade if needed?

• @qenox said: Why not start of with 256MB and upgrade if needed?

This is a good point actually. If 256 isn't enough, just ask your provider for an upgrade to the 512 package. This would also be a good test to see how flexible and how willing-to-serve-you your provider is.

• I also agree with the two above or you could split it in the middle.
    get 372MB instead of 256MB or 512MB.

• InfinityInfinity Member, Host Rep