Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any resellers using any OVH services?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Any resellers using any OVH services?

SPSP Member
edited April 2013 in Help

As some of you may know, I've been researching hosting for a few months now. This research has taken me down many paths ranging from leasing server(s), hosting my owned servers in a DC, to getting an AT&T fiber connection and reselling from that. I believe I have the necessary technical skill to execute this properly, but have not come across a business model that will allow me to make any profit without overselling resources and without posing significant financial risk to my family and current business (managed IT support). Not interested in being a summer host, would like to provide a sustainable quality service that can grow and hopefully augment my salary.

I've know I have seen threads where people speak ill of OVH, and was just wondering if I could get some clarification as to why. Do they have poor network infrastructure? Incompetent tech support? Is their hardware unreliable? Seems like they are using the same SuperMicro/E3 combinations most everyone else is using. Is there any reason that they are not a good choice for VPS resale, other than they don't appear to want to give out IP addresses in more than a /27?

The videos they've posted of their datacenters and what they are doing with cooling and architecture make them look like a really attractive option, but that could just be putting polish on a turd. I welcome all comments and criticisms.

Comments

• edited April 2013